Eleven

I’ve had this draft of a post sitting in the back end of my blog for the last few weeks. (The ‘back end’ is what I call the part of the blog you can’t see – where I write posts and respond to comments and all that. Is there an official term for it? If there is I don’t know it.)

Anyway, the title was Eleven.

The text field was blank.

I have absolutely no idea what it was going to be about.

So to not let the numerical title go to waste, here are 11 things I’ve been doing since I last wrote:

1. Made pitcher mojitos for a bachelorette, and they were delicious. In fact, after the first round we had to run out and get more rum because we already knew we didn’t have enough to truly appreciate the simplicity and deliciousness of this particular mojito.

2.  Broke down an antique cast iron and brass bed frame with a hammer. ‘Cause they just don’t make things like they used to! I inherited the frame from a friend and it has since moved with me four times, and I just can’t bring myself to get rid of it even though nobody has double beds anymore. This goes completely against number three, which is…

3. Purged our house of clothes, toys, paperwork, outerwear and housewares.I was ruthless. The house feels so much roomier now! Too bad the shed is chock full of antique bed frame. (Also, you know how heavy your cast iron fry pan is? Well picture that in a bed frame. That thing is HEA-VY.)

4. Saw The Avengers. I knew nothing at all about it going in to the film (Marvel who?) but I had a great time!

5. Took Sylvia on a bus ride. We went to the park and playground, then we took the bus home again. It may have been her greatest day ever, for a grand total cost of $4.50. Can’t beat that.

6. Made this delicious recipe: asparagus and mushrooms with tasty tasty pasta sauce. Or at least that’s what I call it. But a rose by any other name and all that. This is some good, easy cooking!

7. Met my TWO new baby cousins. Got all misty-eyed over their new baby smell. Yum.

8. Watched Sylvia go from saying a couple hundred words to repeating every. damn. thing. you. say. And coming up with her own phrases, and having conversations, and mastering big words like “essential” (ie: Coffee is…), “mattress” and “eventually.”

Q – When will the bus come?

A- Eventually!

9. Hung out with my sister who was home from the UK for two full weeks at the same time as me.

10. Ate four six nine a lot of croissants from Rocket bakery.

11. Read a lot of blogs. The usual, plus a couple  new  ones. (New to me)

Leave your two cents here!

