CHANGE: Crib-to-toddler bed

Two weeks ago I wrote about parenting advice that just doesn’t apply to me, or most people living more than a few hours from a major city centre.

On the other hand, there are lots of great parenting tips, and advice that does apply.

Among them: potty training, starting solids, discipline, play time, cutting baby’s fingernails and that most important milestone: transitioning from crib to toddler bed.

I’m a reader and a researcher. That means I research the hell out of any new thing coming my way.

So, like potty training, starting solids, discipline, play time and cutting Sylvia’s fingernails, I read up on the crib-to-bed thing. I read a lot. I read every single headline about toddler sleep habits I’ve seen in the past six months. I’ve actively sought out articles on how to make the switch as easy as possible.

Then the time came for Sylvia to make the switch… and it was a complete non-issue. Seamless. Easy.

I know. I KNOW. She’s two now and could completely change her tune in a week. But let me bask in this easy glory for a few days at least, okay?


Soooo, I’m taking a page out of Laurie’s book who is in turn taking her cue from Momalom this week… Five for Five is a week-long blogging event whereby bloggers write every day on each of five topics.

Today: CHANGE.

Tomorrow: WORDS.

Stay tuned.

18 responses to “CHANGE: Crib-to-toddler bed

  1. hi! i’m attempting the 5 for 5 with the momaloms too. so… you researched? what was most helpful? my 2.25 year old just WILL NOT make the switch. any tips?

    • Oh Jennifer, I wish I knew! We just got lucky I guess. I can’t say anything I researched was helpful, as we went about it in a really roundabout way: we’ve been travelling since January, so she’s been sleeping pretty well everywhere BUT her crib for the past four months. When we finally got home, she insisted on napping in the toddler bed (that has been set up in the spare room since last fall). So we decided to let her sleep the night… and that was it. No fuss. Good luck to you, and keep trying!

  2. Welllll, we never used a crib. But I must say that moving the kids from our bed to their own beds was MUCH easier than we anticipated. Sometimes these kids surprise you. Enjoy it! And thanks for joining in!

    • Thanks, Jen – yes sometimes they do surprise you. I’m kind of waiting for the other shoe to drop though, you know? Like, this has been WAY too easy! Ha, well like I said, going to enjoy it while it lasts. 🙂

  3. I love those moments–when something is easier than I could have imagined. Even better–moments I hoped, almost expected would be easy (despite some evidence to the contrary) that I am right about. THat’s when I feel like I’m actually getting the hang of this mommy gig.

  4. ivyleagueinsecurities

    Bask in the glory. Do it 🙂

  5. Hi – here from momalom.com – your linky thing isn’t working on the page – you might have to re-do it. Nice to meet you though!

    • Thanks for the heads up, Cathy. I’ve re-done it. (Was a little to quick on the ctl+c ctl+v earlier I guess). Nice to meet you too – I like your blog name 🙂

  6. We thought the transition would be a big deal for our two-year-old as well, but nope. It was a breeze. Glad it was the same for your little one!

  7. Each of my kids reacted differently to changing from the crib to the bed. My son just went on to sleep, but my daughter required long nights of returning her to her bed (and still needs to be taken back on occasion). Now that I think of it, he never climbed out of the crib and we couldn’t keep her in. Maybe there’s a correlation?

  8. I’d be happy if my third would stay in a crib until he graduatesfrom high school. Alas, I know that’s not going to happen! =>

  9. Bravo and yes, take great pleasure when the big moments come easy! I was dreading potty training my 2.5 year old and really resisted, even when he was pushing to do it. We did it in 2 days- easiest thing. NOT because I did anything wonderful or grand or because of any research- simply because he was ready and we got lucky. But I sometimes think that if we let the little ones lead and trust our intuition about when they are ready, rather than being dictated by some milestone email, it seems to go easier. Now, taking away the pacifier is going to be brutal! I think we all have our battles, but nice to hear that crib to bed doesn’t always have to be one of them.

Leave your two cents here!

