My new favourite soup. (Try it! You’ll love it!)

This soup.

THIS SOUP.

If I lose all my taste buds tomorrow, I will be alright knowing I tasted this soup before I died.

I don’t know whose links I clicked or whose Pinterest trail I followed to land upon it, but I will be forever grateful that I did.

It’s Slacker Spinach Soup, and it is divine. I think it is the exclamation marks that make it, so don’t forget to add a dash of them to the pot.

For my own variety of slacker soup, I used about 3/4 of a package of frozen spinach. I tossed that in a pot with a bit of broth and let the spinach defrost. Then I topped up the pot with about 1 litre of broth and a couple cups of water. Tossed in a bit of tri-colour penne, some black pepper, some Tikka paste and let the pasta cook. Finished the dish with some goat feta.

SPICY SPINACH SOUP IS MY NEW SPICY SWEET POTATO SOUP.

I know it doesn’t look like much, but oh, OH, please just try it. For me? Just once. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

You know how every new recipe somebody gives you, and they say “You HAVE to try it!”? So you nod your head and write it down and talk about how much you’re looking forward to trying it, all while tucking the recipe in the very back of your recipe book? Don’t do that to this soup. This soup deserves the limelight, a place on your table and a special bit of your heart.

I was all “huh, spinach? Indian spices? I don’t know, dude.” But then I made it and I ate it and now I am a believer.

And CHEAP! The whole pot cost me well under $10. Largely because I bought spices from a bulk food store and made the Tikka paste myself. $0.21 for garam masala? YES PLEASE.

Okay, I totally didn’t start out to make the paste myself, but there was none to be had. So I did what any self-respecting 21st century cook does and I Googled it.

This is what I came up with:

Spices in a bowl. For more spice love (and better spice photos) visit Legal Nomads, and while you're there spend an hour or two going through her archives.

Tikka paste

2T coriander
2T cumin
2T paprika
1.5 T garlic powder
1T garam masala
1T ground ginger
1T dried mint
2t chili powder
1/2 t tumeric
1/4 t salt

Mix them all together, then add

1T lemon juice
2/3 c wine vinegar
2T water

Heat 2/3 c oil in a small pan and saute the mixture for 10 min, until all the water has evaporated.

(Pro tip: don’t lick the spoon. That stuff is HOT.)

So those were my adventures in cooking this afternoon.

YESTERDAY, however, I made these:

I don't have a cooling rack in our temporary lodgings, so this was the best I could come up with. Don't judge the cook.

These are Flax and Oat Breakfast Power Muffins and these, too, are delicious. Also, exceedingly simple to mix up. I also don’t have a blender or a mixer, but I just mashed the banana with a fork, and stirred in the egg and sugar and they were fine. I left a few plain for Sylvia, but definitely add some dark chocolate chips to your batter – no need to be a martyr. I doubled the recipe when I made them again this morning, and they were delicious too. Try ’em! You’ll love ’em!

One response to “My new favourite soup. (Try it! You’ll love it!)

  1. Pingback: Today is mother’s day, because I said so. | Laura Bee Dot

Leave your two cents here!

