A blogger without a camera is a lame, lame blogger.

I have a confession to make.

I… forgot my camera.

In Newfoundland.

I know. I know. I’m sorry.

The trouble is, I was so accustomed to carrying a work camera with me at all times that I kind of sort of forgot there were other cameras in my life.

And when I quit my job, it was Christmas and hectic and I wasn’t really thinking about photos. (What? People take photos at Christmas?)

And then we drove across the country, and while we had planned to take a photo of Sylvia at every provincial border… she was asleep for every single one. And now we’re in Drayton Valley, and certain grandparents are pestering me for daily photos of their granddaughter, and I have nothing to offer because… I forgot my camera.

But all is not lost! I do have a camera built into my cell phone, though it is TOUCHY and takes mostly crappy photos. I guess until I conjure up $2,000 to buy myself the same camera I used daily for the past four years, it will have to do.

Now on to the photos!

Drayton’s homage to derricks:


Now imagine several blocks of this.

Next up, sure signs Sylvia’s been in my purse:

Those are tiny toddler tooth marks on that clementine, and a miniature Toblerone that’s been gummed to within an inch of its life. I’m thankful she at least didn’t try to eat my pencil case I guess.

Finally, did you know Walmart sells divorces now?

I especially like that it’s shelved with the seasonal books. Actually, I took that photo on Blue Monday, so maybe they actually did get that part right. (Wiki is blacked out – you’ll have to wait til tomorrow to read it).

Oh, were you expecting photos of Sylvia? Yeah she moves too fast for my camera phone. You’ll have to wait until I win the lottery. Or else have my camera shipped from home.

4 responses to “A blogger without a camera is a lame, lame blogger.

  1. I did the same thing the first time I went to The Great Wall. Just had the camera phone 🙂

  2. Travis Stuber (cross country traveling partner)

    Lies!!…. She has a camera in Drayton, It was packed with my stuff.

  3. Pingback: Choose your own adventure | The Sheds Project

  4. Pingback: Towering heels and a photographic journey through time | Laura Bee Dot

Leave your two cents here!

