Sun salutations

Last weekend my mother-in-law asked me if the tree in my front garden was budding yet.

I told her the truth: I have been too busy to notice.

I don’t like this version of myself, the one who doesn’t even see the leaves on the trees.

I do sit ups and push ups and stretches on the living room floor every morning, looking out past the tree and across the water. My morning routine has become another chore to rush through, my mind busy with so many other things, rather than the relaxing, energizing ritual it is supposed to be.

So this morning I noticed. Yes, the leaves are on the trees and the rhubarb is almost gone to seed! Soon be time to harvest. I sense a rhubarb pie in my future.

Leave your two cents here!

