Hair

I got my hair cut this week.

Every time I go to a salon, it’s the same old thing. I want a trim, long layers, and nothing I can’t reproduce at home.

“Your hair is so thick!” is always the opening line.

Followed by, “Wow! You’ve got such thick hair!”

Then, “Has it ever been coloured?” No. “VIRGIN hair!? That’s rare, especially in Newfoundland*.”

But yesterday was a first – the stylist actually called over her coworkers to have them grasp handfuls of my hair so they could appreciate for themselves just how thick my hair is.

So yeah, I’ve got thick hair.

But thickness and virginity aside, my hair is relatively easy to handle. I get it thinned every so often, to keep the blow-drying time under 20 minutes.

I felt bad for the stylist though. She spent a good 10 minutes arranging each strand, though I explicitly said I wanted a ‘do I could run my hand through and be done with. It lasted about 3 minutes outside before it was blown away by the wind, anyway. I didn’t want to undo all her hard work, but at the end of the day it is my hair.

In other news, I’m going to a wedding tomorrow. A high school friend is getting married. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone all dressed up. It’s calling for rain, but that’s supposed to be good luck. (Something about a wet knot being harder to untie). Times like these really make me realize how poorly I’ve kept in touch with old friends. I used to send so many letters and cards (go ahead and blame the Canada Post strike on me) and generally did a better job staying connected. Life is so busy now, especially with a baby. I used to see everyone whenever I went to town, but these days I’ve got a shopping list and family visits to make. It’s hard to keep track of all my high school friends, and some I’ve done a better job of staying in touch with, but I’m honoured to be asked to their weddings!

*Actual statement from a hairdresser styling my hair two years ago. I’m not making this up.

Leave your two cents here!

